Jump to content


Extended Downtime



33 replies to this topic

#16 pjar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 November 2011 - 03:47 PM

I really need my files by next monday because I have to earn some college credits using them. So panic is overcoming me! :(
Could you possibly give any unconfirmed estimate of when Stevie (or at least the FTP-server) will be back? Just as many of us I have forgottend to make the important backups and I'm praying that my precious files will be retrievable by monday...
Hope to hear soon, thanks in advance!

#17 xwinuser

    Rank III Member

  • Contributors
  • 169 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Avaya PBX, Fractional T1, DS1, PRI, ISDN, NetScreen, Juniper, Cisco, Project Management, eCommerce, SEO, Web building, IIS, Virtual Domains...

Posted 26 November 2011 - 04:15 PM

So all that may need to be done is a reboot? No one has spoken to djbob since this started?


View Postbyron, on 26 November 2011 - 11:43 AM, said:

I posted on djbob's wall at facebook. Surely he saw that?


#18 cl58

    Rank X Member

  • Support Admin
  • 1,272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted 26 November 2011 - 04:22 PM

View Postxwinuser, on 26 November 2011 - 04:15 PM, said:

So all that may need to be done is a reboot? No one has spoken to djbob since this started?

We have already done a reboot which did not solve the problem.
Posted Image
cl58.tk
Support Administrator
Contact
Wiki | Facebook | Twitter | Feedback

*Please note CL58Services new home: cl58.tk
Posted ImagePosted Image

#19 xwinuser

    Rank III Member

  • Contributors
  • 169 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Avaya PBX, Fractional T1, DS1, PRI, ISDN, NetScreen, Juniper, Cisco, Project Management, eCommerce, SEO, Web building, IIS, Virtual Domains...

Posted 26 November 2011 - 04:47 PM

Ok. Is this a Windows box (I doubt it) or a Linux box? FreeBSD? Surely the services and servers on the box were restarted when the machine came back up? Apache, DNS, virtual machines if any but I think only Johnny has VM.

Anyway you cannot just boot up a server and expect it to work. Not saying that is what you guys did. Just asking.

Xwinuser

#20 xaav

    Rank X Member

  • Support Admin
  • 3,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Planet Earth

Posted 26 November 2011 - 05:00 PM

Quote

Anyway you cannot just boot up a server and expect it to work. Not saying that is what you guys did.

The server is running CentOS, which automatically starts all services on boot. This means that after a reboot, sshd, httpd, mysqld, and postgresd should have all started up within a few minutes. Even if the other services didn't start up for some odd reason, sshd is packaged with CentOS itself, so it should have started regardless of any other problems, unless the OS is corrupt or something. This suggests that something more serious may have happened, but without SSH access, it is impossible to find out what.
Wondering when to sign up?
http://helio.byrondallas.heliohost.org/sign-up.php

Want to know when your account is going to be active?
http://heliohost.org/home/support/scripts/status


#21 xwinuser

    Rank III Member

  • Contributors
  • 169 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Avaya PBX, Fractional T1, DS1, PRI, ISDN, NetScreen, Juniper, Cisco, Project Management, eCommerce, SEO, Web building, IIS, Virtual Domains...

Posted 26 November 2011 - 05:12 PM

Ah, now there is some good info! Thank you!

Still could be anything but I like getting actual facts instead of pondering. heh

Do you know the RAID config? May have to break the mirror.

Is the server at a colo or at djbob's home? Office?




View Postxaav, on 26 November 2011 - 05:00 PM, said:

Quote

Anyway you cannot just boot up a server and expect it to work. Not saying that is what you guys did.

The server is running CentOS, which automatically starts all services on boot. This means that after a reboot, sshd, httpd, mysqld, and postgresd should have all started up within a few minutes. Even if the other services didn't start up for some odd reason, sshd is packaged with CentOS itself, so it should have started regardless of any other problems, unless the OS is corrupt or something. This suggests that something more serious may have happened, but without SSH access, it is impossible to find out what.


#22 xaav

    Rank X Member

  • Support Admin
  • 3,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Planet Earth

Posted 26 November 2011 - 05:19 PM

Quote

Is the server at a colo or at djbob's home? Office?

Of course it's at the colocation center; you can't get 100Mbps connection anywhere else, that is unless you are a rich person or something.
Wondering when to sign up?
http://helio.byrondallas.heliohost.org/sign-up.php

Want to know when your account is going to be active?
http://heliohost.org/home/support/scripts/status


#23 xwinuser

    Rank III Member

  • Contributors
  • 169 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Avaya PBX, Fractional T1, DS1, PRI, ISDN, NetScreen, Juniper, Cisco, Project Management, eCommerce, SEO, Web building, IIS, Virtual Domains...

Posted 26 November 2011 - 05:29 PM

Ah. I did not know the connection speed.

Some colos have support people that do a range a services depending on the colo and the amount you pay. Some flip switches for you, some will actually log into your server and start services and do basic troubleshooting. Then there are places like Sungard who specialize in disaster recovery and hot sites that can do whatever you need them to do including rebuilding and configuring a server.

http://www.sungardas.../Solutions.aspx


View Postxaav, on 26 November 2011 - 05:19 PM, said:

Quote

Is the server at a colo or at djbob's home? Office?

Of course it's at the colocation center; you can't get 100Mbps connection anywhere else, that is unless you are a rich person or something.


#24 Lena

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Eastern Europe
  • Interests:accmail (Internet access via email)

Posted 26 November 2011 - 06:31 PM

View Postxwinuser, on 26 November 2011 - 05:29 PM, said:

Some colos have support people that do a range a services depending on the colo and the amount you pay. Some flip switches for you, some will actually log into your server and start services and do basic troubleshooting.
I suppose that djbob created Heliohost in order to learn how to do all that himself, how to run a paid webhost.

#25 Wizard

    Rank X Member

  • Support Admin
  • 2,922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Sleeping.

Posted 26 November 2011 - 07:51 PM

We've already rebooted the server. Didn't work.

We did get into contact with djbob. Last I checked, he's working on it.

In the event of something becoming completely FUBAR, we'll do our best to recover your data, but don't cry and yell at us if we can't. TOS told you up front that we're not responsible for data loss.

Quote

Pacman emerges victorious!

#26 jje

    Rank X Member

  • Support Admin
  • 2,769 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 26 November 2011 - 08:10 PM

Quote

how to run a paid webhost.
HelioHost is a free web hosting company - not paid/premium host ;)

Quote

I was just thinking. I keep getting these emails that say my ACH transfer has been cancelled or rejected. But I didn't make any transfer. They're viruses. They always come with an attachment for you to open that appears to hold additional information. I filter them out and delete them. I noticed that when I ignored them, they increased in number. They come infrequently in a little wave. The last batch I saw was just before stevie went down. A couple of years ago these same types of email were saying they were from the post office. I downloaded one and opened it and lost my computer. So now I know better but what if other users are actually opening these attachments in webmail and unleashing these viruses on the whole system?
The mail system on the server will not open/run any attachments sent via email, therefore the 'virus' is probably powerless over the server. However, if the attachment was a virus and the webmaster downloaded it, it would still affect the webmaster's computer but not the server.

Quote

Could you possibly give any unconfirmed estimate of when Stevie (or at least the FTP-server) will be back? Just as many of us I have forgottend to make the important backups and I'm praying that my precious files will be retrievable by monday...
Unfortunately we do not have an estimate - at this time we are waiting for our root administrator, djbob.
Support Administrator | @HelioHost on Twitter.
Posted Image

#27 n30n

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 26 November 2011 - 08:12 PM

@wizard ... I think it will be better if we should hope for the best and also for you guys if you should focus on reminding users to create backup (using some mechanism) rather than reminding of the TOS :-) ... Its a natural thing people do get mad when they lose their data.... This way you will let them know their mistake without making them yell at you. Anyway my point of this post was to understand the state of damage that has happened. If you do get contact with djbob again. Can you let us know the state of damage? so we can be prepared rather than waiting 4,5 days more and then knowing that our data is lost.... I think this is a fair call....

#28 xaav

    Rank X Member

  • Support Admin
  • 3,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Planet Earth

Posted 26 November 2011 - 08:18 PM

Merging thread...

Quote

Can you let us know the state of damage? so we can be prepared rather than waiting 4,5 days more and then knowing that our data is lost.... I think this is a fair call....

At this time, we are not sure of the full extent of the damage. Our root administrator has determined that the problem may be a "disk consistency issue," but we are not completely sure about this.
Wondering when to sign up?
http://helio.byrondallas.heliohost.org/sign-up.php

Want to know when your account is going to be active?
http://heliohost.org/home/support/scripts/status


#29 n30n

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 26 November 2011 - 08:34 PM

hmmm ... m not a pro when it comes to linux ... but in windows i find EaseUs suites of data and partition recovery the best... unfortunately i don't know if its possible to run that on linux using wine but at the event of data loss . I would suggest giving it a try as I myself have used it on multiple occasions 100% recovering TB of data on servers easily and successfully ....It does support Ext2 and Ext3 file systems though

#30 ibtisam

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 26 November 2011 - 09:47 PM

Can you guys post some screenshots of the error. maybe we can help..





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users