What Is Your Favorite Php/text Editor?

So I want to hear, what is your favorite PHP/Text Editor?

I personally use PHP Designer 8 which is an IDE and supports full PHP5, HTML5, and CSS3. To see all it's features and screenshots here is the link http://www.mpsoftware.dk/phpdesigner_features.php. What I personally like about this editor is that I can customize it's highlighting, and of course it provides organized tools to handle certain situations and debugging. It also has php and the tools to actually test run the script locally.

I also use Notepad++ in certain situations but most of my work is produced using Php Designer 8.

So what is your favorite editor?

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I only started learning php recently so have never actually used an editor other than the code editor built in to cpanel !

It's possible I'm being short sighted here but anything more advanced than notepad or the basic editor that comes as standard just seems to me to be a little over the top. I guess the main reason is that I like to keep things simple and having just a small lap top I also don't cherish the idea of squeezing more programs on to the desktop than is absolutely necessary.

Apart from that, I've found learning by trial and error, looking up the error messages that php/mysql throws out to have been quite a useful experience. I also have to wonder just how up to date these editors are. Having just taught myself one way to use mysql for example I read that some of the functions are being deprecated eventually in favour of PDO.

It was annoying having to relearn everything I'd taken a considerable time to get just right but by using just a basic code editor it wasn't too stressfull replacing the old syntax with the new.

You have got me wondering now though. I hope lots of people answer your question as it might make me consider giving another editor a try.

Edited by f1p2

Me too Notepad ++ and dream weaver cs3