[Solved] Access Denied For User

matti76

Hello,

I'm returning to my website after a break from it for a few months. I get the following message on the home page:

Access denied for user 'matti76'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

I've tried to delete the user and create it again, create a new one, tried to change privileges, etc.

Some other info if it helps:

- When I try to delete the database and/or user, and recreate them under the same names, CPanel tells me they already exist even though I have deleted them?

- on the USER_PRIVILEGES table, the user matti76 has NO under IS_GRANTABLE.

Sorry if this is something simple that I'm missing - I'm just learning. Any help is much appreciated. I have tried for hours to resolve this, but I'm going round in circles.

Thanks for the quick response.

I've changed my CPanel password which has allowed me to recreate the matti76 user this time, so that is a step forward. Unfortunately I still see the same message: Access denied for user 'matti76'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

I also deleted the database and have tried to reimport it, but get the following message in phpmyadmin: #1874 - InnoDB is in read only mode.

Thanks again for the help, really appreciated.

Did you edit your website's code to use the new password you set? The password for the DB user matti76 should be your cPanel password, so changing the cPanel password will change the DB user's password too. Anything that uses that database user will need to be told what the new password is.

If it still refuses to work after you've made sure the website code has the right password, make sure they match by changing the cPanel password again and checking the "Synchronize MySQL Password" checkbox to force the DB user's password to change.

I don't recommend using your cPanel account as a database user for security reasons, but lets get it working first.