A Plea: Signing Up For A Free Account Is Basically Impossible. Change The Front Page To Reflect That.

jesse

I am new to Heliohost. I recently tried to create an account on Tommy, and have went through two separate issues with this. In the most recent, the window for signing up with an account on Tommy was < 2 seconds. In response, admin Krydos suggested I make a donation in order to get hosting.

(That convo took place this forum thread, but discussing this there would have been a little off-topic, so I'm creating this new thread.)

....I have considered making a donation. My site will be for a small side hobby/business. Over the course of a year or two, if I make money and if I can successfully run the site on the hardware provided, I was going to basically donate a % of my profit, TBD. Also, you guys do seem to be on top of things as far as service/support which I experienced in the linked topic above, and thanks for that.

On the opposite side, I really do feel deceived, and I believe what has happened to me is a deceptive practice, free or not. The front page says:

"Community powered free hosting for everyone"

But in reality, at least at present time, it's:

"Community powered hosting for those who can hit F5/refresh in one second and win the lottery [and that's kind of ridiculous], or just pay a one time fee to get your account."