Jump to content


Photo

Tiny Tiny Rss

RSS

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 clubwdw

clubwdw

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 March 2013 - 05:15 PM

I have set up Tiny Tiny RSS on my HelioHost account, in order to guarantee a future for my RSS feeds after Google Reader goes dark on July 1. Everything looks and works the way it is supposed to. . . .except one thing. . . .it doesn't update in the background. I've done extensive searching for answers on how to make this happen and according to someone in the know, here's what they have said:

First make sure your webhost allows background processes. If so, this is my crontab entry (which runs 3 times per hour):
5,25,45 * * * * /usr/local/bin/php54 /home/<username>/webapps/<ttrss-directory>/update.php --daemon > /dev/null 2>&1 &


Am I able/allowed to do this and if so, can someone give me an idea of how it is achieved? Please and thank you!

Bryan

#2 Shinryuu

Shinryuu

    Rank X Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Everywhere
  • Interests:Music, Games, Programming, Chemistry, Drawing, lots more.

Posted 27 March 2013 - 06:36 PM

We only allow 2 cron jobs per day, you can use setcronjob.com to run up to 50 remote cron commands per day.
Was I helpful? If so, let me know by liking this post.
Posted ImagePosted Image

#3 clubwdw

clubwdw

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 March 2013 - 06:54 PM

We only allow 2 cron jobs per day, you can use setcronjob.com to run up to 50 remote cron commands per day.


Got it! Awesome resource! How would I go about setting up something like this when it is not stored on the heliohost server? For example, using the cron job I posted earlier, how would I format it on SetCronJob.Com, modified, of course, to run a job once every 30 minutes. . . .?

5,25,45 * * * * /usr/local/bin/php54 /home/<username>/webapps/<ttrss-directory>/update.php --daemon > /dev/null 2>&1 &

When I try to run the update script, it complains giving me the following error:

"Please run this script from the command line. Use option "-help" to display command help if this error is displayed erroneously."

Am I doing something wrong? I'm very new to these things and I REALLY appreciate all your assistance!

#4 Shinryuu

Shinryuu

    Rank X Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,083 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Everywhere
  • Interests:Music, Games, Programming, Chemistry, Drawing, lots more.

Posted 27 March 2013 - 07:31 PM

I can't help you with the implementation of crons since I don't use them.
Was I helpful? If so, let me know by liking this post.
Posted ImagePosted Image

#5 Ice IT Support

Ice IT Support

    Rank X Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,655 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:HelioHost, Search and Rescue, Emergency/Disaster Communications, Amateur Radio

Posted 28 March 2013 - 04:20 AM

Be sure you can access update.php from a web browser. Then copy the URL at setcronjob.com. You can set the time with the UI.

HelioHost moderator. Please do not PM me for support!

server_load_s.gifserver_load_j.gifserver_load_t.gif

 

server_uptime_s.gifserver_uptime_j.gifserver_uptime_t.gif






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: RSS

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users