I learned what I know in about three months but I'm kinda slow when it comes to such things. ^^;

I couldn't learn crap from W3Schools though. Check out DayDream Graphics for some cool tutorials. They'll teach you PHP as you make working scripts, so you can learn how to make use of the knowledge you gain. ^^

Ugh, I never seem to be able to finish any tutorial. Every time when I'm halfway I need to do other things (learn for tests, write papers for school) and when I'm done with these things, I have to start all over again, because I forget most things <_<. I also have the problem of not being able to read huge boring texts about what a certain piece of code does and how you should use it. Fortunately, I've found PHP 101: PHP For the Absolute Beginner. I don't know if it's good, but at least it's easy to read and follow. It's only the basic stuff I think, so after this one I'll have to find more tutorials, or borrow a book about PHP at the local library.

And how look it takes... I've read somewhere it takes about ten years before you totally master something, but I think it takes a few months to master the basics of PHP.

Hmm, well It took me about 2months to finish the w3schools PHP tutorial at an average of studying about 4hrs a week. I probably learn at about an average pace. I only did the PHP tutorial down to the end of the mysql part. So an an extremely rough ballpark estimate I'd say the PHP tutorial took me about 30-40hrs of total study time for the tutorial. But as for truly being fluent in the language I still have a long ways to go.

• 1 month later...
  • 1 month later...

i took a web programming class in school, but we only covered it for about a month. one of the main reasons i joined this site was so i could get reacclimated with it. it's a pretty easy language once you learn some of it's annoying tendencies. (i wish i could elaborate on that, but it's been so long since i've used PHP that i forget what the annoying tendencies were! :lol: )