[Solved] Question About Java On Tommy

div

Hi admin/s,

Server: Tommy

1. Can i install java on a subdomain so my example.com remains as i want and subdomain.example.com becomes my default for a java project and runs the jsp directly.

2. do i need to install ssl for a java hosted site on a subdomain? Is it really neccessary?

3. I have a database although currently configured in Oracle but i won't get oracle here so i have to move to Mysql right? So should i start creating my databases or wait till java is installed?

4. I'm confused on which database service to use.. My main requirement is I would have to store login information from the users using the application. But which one to choose?

• Postgresql
  • Mysql
  • Remote mysql ( Whats the difference from mysql)
  • phpmyadmin (i think its only for people who use php scripting so not for jsp maybe?

Any links or suggestions is appreciated. I'm still learning so please bear with me :D

Hi admin/s,

Server: Tommy

1. Can i install java on a subdomain so my example.com remains as i want and subdomain.example.com becomes my default for a java project and runs the jsp directly.

2. do i need to install ssl for a java hosted site on a subdomain? Is it really neccessary?

3. I have a database although currently configured in Oracle but i won't get oracle here so i have to move to Mysql right? So should i start creating my databases or wait till java is installed?

4. I'm confused on which database service to use.. My main requirement is I would have to store login information from the users using the application. But which one to choose?

• Postgresql
  • Mysql
  • Remote mysql ( Whats the difference from mysql)
  • phpmyadmin (i think its only for people who use php scripting so not for jsp maybe?

Any links or suggestions is appreciated. I'm still learning so please bear with me :D

1. Yes.

2. No, but if you're on Tommy, it will install itself on its own, so you'e getting it anyway. You don't need to do anything.