Jump to content


Photo

Databases and Users in phpMyAdmin

phpmyadmin databases users

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 ardent

ardent

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 18 September 2018 - 03:44 AM

Hi,

 

I recently created my first database and database user and was able to add the user to the database in cPanel. However, I am confused as to how a user with the login credentials I created would be able to access and modify data in the database in phpMyAdmin without having to first login through Heliohost cPanel? This is for security reasons as I do not want one user (who has access to only one database) to be able to tamper with other users/databases. Please let me know how to proceed.

 

Thank you,

Ardent



#2 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 10,161 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 18 September 2018 - 11:24 AM

They can't use our install of PMA. If this is desired, you would need to install PhpMyAdmin on your own account and access it via your domain, or enable remote access and advise users to use a tool like MySQL Workbench to administer their database.


Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.

Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#3 ardent

ardent

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 September 2018 - 03:21 AM

Hi wolstech,

 

And thank you for the prompt response. Suppose I wanted to use phpMyAdmin through HelioHost. How would I go about enabling remote access? Upon reading up on the subject I came across this: https://community.sp...-to-phpmyadmin, but it feels like this method is for those using phpMyAdmin from their personal machines...

 

Thank you,

Ardent



#4 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 10,161 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 20 September 2018 - 03:44 AM

You would need to download PMA, upload it to your account, configure it, and give out the url to it. Softaculous can also install it for you I believe.

Remote access is for users who want to access the database over the internet from another computer like their own. There is a page in cpanel for it. You add the IPs of allowed computers, or add a % to allow all IPs. The user would need to install software on their PC to access the database with.

Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.

Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#5 Luigi123

Luigi123

    Rank X Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,373 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Posted 20 September 2018 - 06:40 PM

Moved to Customer Service.

server_load_s.gifserver_load_j.gifserver_load_t.gif
server_uptime_s.gifserver_uptime_j.gifserver_uptime_t.gif

 






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: phpmyadmin, databases, users

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users