Jump to content


Photo

Tommy Downtime


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
116 replies to this topic

#46 sohamb03

sohamb03

    Rank VIII Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Interests:Web Designing

Posted 13 August 2019 - 04:09 PM

You need to give sometime for the SSL certificate to update. It can take up 12 hours.

Also you don't need to manually install SSL certificate on your domain. AutoSSL on Ricky will take care of that.

Sayan Bhattacharyya


#47 snowm

snowm

    Rank III Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Erwin, NC
  • Interests:Computers, education, travel, and real estate.

Posted 13 August 2019 - 04:33 PM

You need to give sometime for the SSL certificate to update. It can take up 12 hours.

Also you don't need to manually install SSL certificate on your domain. AutoSSL on Ricky will take care of that.

But how do you do that? My domain is set to panther1.heliohost.org. I want it set to wcats.tk.

AutoSSL seems to not work with wcats.tk, it only works on panther1.heliohost.org, my primary domain. Can you set wcats.tk as the primary domain?


Certified Microsoft Office Specialist for PowerPoint and Word 2013.

Tommy is back online, but you need to sit tight! Your name is coming up, and will be transferred in no time!

Follow Me On Twitter

@MonaghanBryce


#48 sohamb03

sohamb03

    Rank VIII Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Interests:Web Designing

Posted 13 August 2019 - 04:50 PM

You needn't do that. AutoSSL takes time to assign a certificate after your domain has been added. It occurs automatically with the next Apache restart on your server.

However by installing another SSL certificate you've probably broken AutoSSL and that's the reason. Go ahead and remove the certificate you've installed and then an admin can manually run AutoSSL on your domain for the thing to be fixed.

Sayan Bhattacharyya


#49 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 10,849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 13 August 2019 - 04:56 PM

That's...odd. AutoSSL refuses to acknowledge the extra domain and won't even attempt to get a cert for it.

 

I'll just make it your primary domain and see if it works.


Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.
Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#50 snowm

snowm

    Rank III Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Erwin, NC
  • Interests:Computers, education, travel, and real estate.

Posted 13 August 2019 - 05:04 PM

That's...odd. AutoSSL refuses to acknowledge the extra domain and won't even attempt to get a cert for it.

 

I'll just make it your primary domain and see if it works.

It still shows panther1.heliohost.org.

I will uninstall the Letsencrypt ones and will try to see if that works.


Certified Microsoft Office Specialist for PowerPoint and Word 2013.

Tommy is back online, but you need to sit tight! Your name is coming up, and will be transferred in no time!

Follow Me On Twitter

@MonaghanBryce


#51 snowm

snowm

    Rank III Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Erwin, NC
  • Interests:Computers, education, travel, and real estate.

Posted 13 August 2019 - 05:08 PM

 

That's...odd. AutoSSL refuses to acknowledge the extra domain and won't even attempt to get a cert for it.

 

I'll just make it your primary domain and see if it works.

It still shows panther1.heliohost.org.

I will uninstall the Letsencrypt ones and will try to see if that works.

 

Still doesn't work


Certified Microsoft Office Specialist for PowerPoint and Word 2013.

Tommy is back online, but you need to sit tight! Your name is coming up, and will be transferred in no time!

Follow Me On Twitter

@MonaghanBryce


#52 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 10,849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 13 August 2019 - 05:09 PM

Domain changed. :)

 

It may take a few hours to come out of queue, and AutoSSL might take up to 24 hours to get you a certificate.


Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.
Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#53 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 10,849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 13 August 2019 - 05:12 PM

...and that explains a lot right there. LE doesn't play nice on servers that have AutoSSL, and are completely unnecessary anyway. Installing LE certs will prevent AutoSSL from attempting to get one for you. It makes the assumption that you don't want it to do anything if something from elsewhere was manually installed.

 

Just let AutoSSL do its job. It should work within a few hours when Apache restarts  :)

 1:13:30 PM This system has AutoSSL set to use “cPanel (powered by Comodo)”.
 1:13:30 PM Checking websites for “panther1” …
 1:13:30 PM The website “wcats.tk”, owned by “panther1”, has no SSL certificate. AutoSSL will attempt to obtain a new certificate and install it.
 1:13:44 PM The system will attempt to renew SSL certificates for the following websites:
 1:13:44 PM wcats.tk (wcats.tk www.wcats.tk mail.wcats.tk webmail.wcats.tk cpanel.wcats.tk webdisk.wcats.tk)
 1:14:16 PM The system has completed the AutoSSL check for “panther1”.

Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.
Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#54 sohamb03

sohamb03

    Rank VIII Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Interests:Web Designing

Posted 13 August 2019 - 05:22 PM

Yeah wolstech that's what I was saying.... Anything other than the DV issued by AutoSSL causes it to break and assume that the user no longer wants the DV. I have previously tried that on my server. Same results.

Sayan Bhattacharyya


#55 nelsonar

nelsonar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 13 August 2019 - 06:00 PM

I have some questions regarding the transition from Tommy to Ricky, could you please help clarifying them?

 

1. Do I need to create a new e-mail address in order to sign up for a new account on Ricky or is it possible to release my e-mail from Tommy?

2. If the e-mail address can be released, will I still be able to retrieve my backup on https://www.heliohost.org/backup/?

3. From what I've seen, Ricky is full and, thus, is closed for new accounts. Do users with existing accounts on Tommy have any priority on the creation of new accounts or do we have to try signing up at 8pm like any new users?

 

Thanks for your help, hope everything comes back to normal soon!



#56 snowm

snowm

    Rank III Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Erwin, NC
  • Interests:Computers, education, travel, and real estate.

Posted 13 August 2019 - 06:09 PM

 

...and that explains a lot right there. LE doesn't play nice on servers that have AutoSSL, and are completely unnecessary anyway. Installing LE certs will prevent AutoSSL from attempting to get one for you. It makes the assumption that you don't want it to do anything if something from elsewhere was manually installed.

 

Just let AutoSSL do its job. It should work within a few hours when Apache restarts  :)

 1:13:30 PM This system has AutoSSL set to use “cPanel (powered by Comodo)”.
 1:13:30 PM Checking websites for “panther1” …
 1:13:30 PM The website “wcats.tk”, owned by “panther1”, has no SSL certificate. AutoSSL will attempt to obtain a new certificate and install it.
 1:13:44 PM The system will attempt to renew SSL certificates for the following websites:
 1:13:44 PM wcats.tk (wcats.tk www.wcats.tk mail.wcats.tk webmail.wcats.tk cpanel.wcats.tk webdisk.wcats.tk)
 1:14:16 PM The system has completed the AutoSSL check for “panther1”.

 

Ok thank you!


Certified Microsoft Office Specialist for PowerPoint and Word 2013.

Tommy is back online, but you need to sit tight! Your name is coming up, and will be transferred in no time!

Follow Me On Twitter

@MonaghanBryce


#57 sohamb03

sohamb03

    Rank VIII Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 706 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Interests:Web Designing

Posted 13 August 2019 - 06:14 PM

I have some questions regarding the transition from Tommy to Ricky, could you please help clarifying them?

1. Do I need to create a new e-mail address in order to sign up for a new account on Ricky or is it possible to release my e-mail from Tommy?
2. If the e-mail address can be released, will I still be able to retrieve my backup on https://www.heliohost.org/backup/?
3. From what I've seen, Ricky is full and, thus, is closed for new accounts. Do users with existing accounts on Tommy have any priority on the creation of new accounts or do we have to try signing up at 8pm like any new users?

Thanks for your help, hope everything comes back to normal soon!


Probably the email can be released coz the username and the email will be stored in a separate database though which you'll be retrieving your backup. (Anyways Tommy will be formatted)

As far as account sign up is concerned if you're a donor you can receive an invite for Ricky.

Sayan Bhattacharyya


#58 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 10,849 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 13 August 2019 - 06:33 PM

1. Email can be released. 

2. Yes.

3. If you're a donor, you can request a Ricky invite. Please create a new topic in customer service with the transaction ID of your most recent donation (it can be the same one you originally used for Tommy, even if it was long ago), and your Tommy username. If you have any domains on Tommy that you want to reuse on your new account, please include a list of them as well so they can be cleaned up.

 

Users with a free Tommy account will need to create a Ricky or Johnny account through the free signups again (when Tommy is fixed, we can move your account back there). This is because letting everyone on Tommy move to Ricky at once would simply make Ricky die from load. Ricky is not large or powerful enough to run every account that was on Tommy, and he has his own users too.


Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.
Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#59 outvibe1

outvibe1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 August 2019 - 07:11 PM

And what if I had a free account on Tommy and I don't do anything now (such as moving to Ricky or Johnny), how will the process of restoring my website on Tommy later go?

#60 snowm

snowm

    Rank III Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Erwin, NC
  • Interests:Computers, education, travel, and real estate.

Posted 13 August 2019 - 08:04 PM

Yess! SSL is working! Thank you wolstech!


Certified Microsoft Office Specialist for PowerPoint and Word 2013.

Tommy is back online, but you need to sit tight! Your name is coming up, and will be transferred in no time!

Follow Me On Twitter

@MonaghanBryce





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users