Jump to content


Photo

Tommy Downtime


  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#61 nelsonar

nelsonar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 August 2019 - 08:06 PM

1. Email can be released. 

2. Yes.

3. If you're a donor, you can request a Ricky invite. Please create a new topic in customer service with the transaction ID of your most recent donation (it can be the same one you originally used for Tommy, even if it was long ago), and your Tommy username. If you have any domains on Tommy that you want to reuse on your new account, please include a list of them as well so they can be cleaned up.

 

Users with a free Tommy account will need to create a Ricky or Johnny account through the free signups again (when Tommy is fixed, we can move your account back there). This is because letting everyone on Tommy move to Ricky at once would simply make Ricky die from load. Ricky is not large or powerful enough to run every account that was on Tommy, and he has his own users too.

Awesome, will do it right away! Thanks!



#62 snowm

snowm

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Posted 13 August 2019 - 08:51 PM

Yess! SSL is working! Thank you wolstech!

aand its down.

Error establishing a database connection

#63 snowm

snowm

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Posted 13 August 2019 - 08:54 PM

 

Yess! SSL is working! Thank you wolstech!

aand its down.

Error establishing a database connection

 

nvm its up



#64 pfp5p32f

pfp5p32f

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 August 2019 - 12:55 PM

When my backup will avalible? (2ravno2@gmail.com)

#65 sohamb03

sohamb03

    Rank V Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Interests:Web Designing

Posted 14 August 2019 - 01:10 PM

When my backup will avalible? (2ravno2@gmail.com)


When backups are available, an announcement will be made in the 'News' section of the forums. Instructions will be provided on how to download your backup.

Sayan Bhattacharyya


#66 DmC

DmC

    Rank III Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Athens

Posted 15 August 2019 - 01:47 PM

Hey guys,

 

As this is not the first time this happens, I wonder..

 

HDDs don't suddenly die just like that (usually), they give signs for it like reading errors, spinning errors, faulty sectors (and so on).

 

Those data are registered internally on the disk and are readable through SMART.

 

Don't you have any tool to warn you about an expected drive failure?


Edited by DmC, 15 August 2019 - 01:47 PM.

An artist is always alone - if he is an artist. No, what the artist needs is loneliness.
Henry Miller

#67 flazepe

flazepe

    Rank VII Member

  • Moderators
  • 506 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 August 2019 - 01:54 PM

Well, the HDD is 10 years old so it's really not that surprising.



#68 PCBSunbird

PCBSunbird

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:Vacation Rentals and gambling

Posted 15 August 2019 - 02:14 PM

I signed up for a new account and it did not choose Ricky, forget which one. Now I wait to do my backup. I know you say an annoucement will be made, but when can we expect to be able to download our backups? Will I need to repoint to them on godaddy?



#69 flazepe

flazepe

    Rank VII Member

  • Moderators
  • 506 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 August 2019 - 02:18 PM

1. You picked Johnny.
2. There's no ETA for the backups. My guess is within 2 days.
3. Repoint what?



#70 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 10,601 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 15 August 2019 - 02:55 PM

Those data are registered internally on the disk and are readable through SMART.

The server runs ESXi free edition, which does not provide such capability (except showing a table by using a rather long sequence of shell commands). All of the storage API functions that would allow programs inside the VMs to easily pull this information are paid features. ESX is not cheap if you use any of the paid versions...$600/year for the cheapest license (vSphere Essentials I think it's called).


Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.
Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#71 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 10,601 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 15 August 2019 - 02:58 PM

3. Repoint what?

Probably his name servers. If they're already set to ns1.heliohost.org and ns2.heliohost.org, no action is necessary. If you use third party DNS services like CloudFlare, you should change the A record for your domain to 65.19.141.67 for Johnny.


Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.
Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#72 AFHeaton

AFHeaton

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Interests:My main pursuits are music (mostly classical and folk, but occasionally jazz), choral singing, hill-walking and folk-dancing. I also enjoy cinema and many of the European drama productions.

Posted 17 August 2019 - 03:26 PM

I have a free account and I am willing to wait until Tommy is repaired, but the 30-day sign-in will occur before then, and I can't log in at present. Will my account be disabled when Tommy is restored?



#73 flazepe

flazepe

    Rank VII Member

  • Moderators
  • 506 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 August 2019 - 03:30 PM

Your account will be deleted. You can sign up for Ricky/Johnny and restore your backup there. Once Tommy is back up, your account will be moved there.

#74 skullys

skullys

    Rank II Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 17 August 2019 - 04:55 PM

Quick question about e-commerce (opencart) install through CP Softaculous.

 

Once Tommy is restored, any idea if my Opencart backup files will be usable since CP will be upgraded to newest version?


Edited by skullys, 17 August 2019 - 04:55 PM.


#75 sohamb03

sohamb03

    Rank V Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Interests:Web Designing

Posted 17 August 2019 - 04:59 PM

Yeah absolutely. Softaculous Apps Installer will remain the same even if cPanel is upgraded.

Sayan Bhattacharyya





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users