Jump to content


Photo

[Solved] Cannot access Cpanel (Postgres)


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 jpsshort

jpsshort

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 23 February 2021 - 12:24 PM

Hi

 

I recently signed up to the Tommy server.

 

I can login and see the the Helihost Tools page.  However, when I try to access the Cpanel option  I get a Site cannot be reached message.

 

Any suggestions would help.

 

 



#2 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 13,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 23 February 2021 - 02:32 PM

Are you logging in from a workplace or school? That's the most common issue, and it's caused by your organization blocking port 2083.

 

Try using the "Insecure Login" button at the bottom of the tools page instead. This logs you in via unencrypted connection on port 80, which should work pretty much anywhere.


Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.
Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#3 jpsshort

jpsshort

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 23 February 2021 - 03:34 PM

Hi 

 

Thanks for you for your prompt advice.

 

I have just tried the insecure login option and it also comes up with this site cannot be reached. I am currently using a laptop with Windows 10 and I  using this from my home address.

 

I only recently signed up with a Tommy invite. 

 

Is it possible that I may not have set up my account properly?  The suggested login name was jpsshort on the first page of the sign up which I switched to jps47 on the second page.  I note however that this change did not happen to take effect.   However, is it a possible reason for the failure to connect.

 

Sorry to be of trouble.


Edited by jpsshort, 23 February 2021 - 03:35 PM.


#4 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 13,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 23 February 2021 - 03:41 PM

Does either of these links work for you: https://tommy.heliohost.org:2083/ or http://cpanel.tommy.heliohost.org/ ?

 

It's not showing as blocked in the firewall on our end. If the above links don't work, let me know and I'll have one of our other root admins look at this.


Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.
Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#5 jpsshort

jpsshort

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 23 February 2021 - 04:26 PM

Hi

 

Many thanks for sorting this problem.

 

https://tommy.heliohost.org.2083 does not work.  However, when I went to https://cpanel.tommy,heliohost.org/  I was able to log in.

 

Not sure why I cannot login in the other way.

 

Thanks again for your help.



#6 jpsshort

jpsshort

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 23 February 2021 - 04:46 PM

Hi

 

I have now set up a postgresql  database and tried to enable postgis with the CREATE extension postgis.

 

Unfortunately this did not work as anticipated. 

 

SQL error:

ERROR: syntax error at or near "create"
LINE 1: SELECT COUNT(*) AS total FROM (create extension postgis) AS ...
^

 

In statement:
SELECT COUNT(*) AS total FROM (create extension postgis) AS sub

 

 

Could you please let me know if it is possible to enable postgis.

 

Many thanks



#7 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 13,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 23 February 2021 - 05:23 PM

Port 2083 is blocked on your computer for some reason, which is very odd for a home computer.

 

Also, please keep in mind that the link you're using won't count for the inactivity timer. You'll need to log into our website to keep the account active, even if you open cpanel itself using that link. (For what it's worth, the "Insecure login" link on the heliohost tools page on our website should be the same exact link as the one that works for you).

 

Krydos has to install postgis. You can't do that yourself.


Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.
Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#8 jpsshort

jpsshort

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 23 February 2021 - 05:28 PM

Hi

 

Thanks for the update.

 

Do I have to contact Krydos to install postgis?

 

If so how do I do that?

 

Perhaps this is a silly question but can I unblock port 2083 myself or is it being used by some software on my computer and that is why it is blocked.

 

Many thanks again for responding to my numerous requests.  



#9 Luigi123

Luigi123

    Rank X Member

  • Moderators
  • 2,737 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Posted 23 February 2021 - 05:32 PM

Your request has already been assigned to Krydos and he will look at this when he gets a chance. In a meantime, could you please provide us your main database along the database username that you would like us to enable for you?
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#10 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 13,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 23 February 2021 - 05:50 PM

 

Perhaps this is a silly question but can I unblock port 2083 myself or is it being used by some software on my computer and that is why it is blocked.

 

 

Start by trying another device on the same network (e.g. your phone while on the same Wifi). If that works, then you probably have a firewall on your computer blocking it. If that doesn't work, your router may be the cause.


Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.
Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#11 jpsshort

jpsshort

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 23 February 2021 - 06:27 PM

Hi

 

My database is called jpsshort_cms and username is jpsshort_admin.

 

Thanks for your assistance.



#12 Krydos

Krydos

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 21,905 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2021 - 04:13 AM

The postgis extension has been created on that database.

#13 jpsshort

jpsshort

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 25 February 2021 - 03:00 PM

Thanks for enabling posfgis.

 

I would like to access jpsshort_cms from QGIS on my desktop.  Is this possible?

 

Thanks again for your prompt assistance.



#14 wolstech

wolstech

    Rank X Member

  • Root Admin
  • 13,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted 25 February 2021 - 03:07 PM

What database user will be used to access the database?


Please do not PM me for support. Posting on our forums lets all of us learn.
Do you play Minecraft? | Server Monitors | And the Dumbass of the Decade award goes to...


#15 jpsshort

jpsshort

    Rank I Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 25 February 2021 - 03:38 PM

Hi

 

The database user is  jpsshort_admin.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users